Proclaim the Good News


“The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me, because the Lord has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the broken-hearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners…to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favour and the day of vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn…and provide for those who grieve in Zion—to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of joy instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair…They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the Lord for the display of his splendor” (Isaiah 61: 1-3).

“Arise, shine, for your light has come, and the glory of the Lord rises upon you…See, darkness covers the earth and thick darkness is over the peoples, but the Lord rises upon you and his glory appears over you. Nations will come to your light, and kings to the brightness of your dawn (Isaiah 60: 1-3)

“If you follow my decrees and are careful to obey my commands…I will send you rain in its season, and the ground will yield its crops and the trees their fruit… Your threshing will continue until grape harvest and the grape harvest will continue until planting, and you will eat all the food you want and live in safety in your land… “I will grant peace in the land, and you will lie down and no one will make you afraid. I will remove wild beasts from the land, and the sword will not pass through your country…You will pursue your enemies, and they will fall by the sword before you…Five of you will chase a hundred, and a hundred of you will chase ten thousand, and your enemies will fall by the sword before you…”I will look on you with favor and make you fruitful and increase your numbers, and I will keep my covenant with you…You will still be eating last year’s harvest when you will have to move it out to make room for the new…I will put my dwelling place[a] among you, and I will not abhor you…I will walk among you and be your God, and you will be my people…I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of Egypt so that you would no longer be slaves to the Egyptians; I broke the bars of your yoke and enabled you to walk with heads held high” (Lev. 26: 3 -13).

Leave a Reply

